2009 ABA BMX Hall Of Fame

Each year, the AMERICAN BICYCLE ASSOCIATION inducts two legendary BMX racers from the past, along with one influential Industry person in to the Official BMX Hall of Fame. All inductees are voted in by the BMX community, BMX press and past inductees from a nominee ballot. The current list of nominees are selected by the ABA Hall of Fame committee.

This year seven legendary members of the BMX Racing and Freestyle community will be inducted into the National BMX Hall of Fame at the San Diego Hall of Champions on the evening of September 17, 2009.

Join for the 24th induction ceremony, as we honor seven BMX Racing and Freestyle legends from the 1970s and 1980s, and one industry contributor.

The 2009 inductees are:

* Danny Oakley (1960’s and 1970’s pioneer)
* D.D. Leone (1980’s Professional Racer)
* Troy Lee (BMX Industry Contributor, Troy Lee Designs)
* R.L. Osborn and Mike Buff (Of the Legendary BMX Action Trick Team)
* Eddie Fiola (Freestyle Pioneer)
* Jeremy McGrath (Past BMXer Lifetime Achievement Award).

There will also be special recognition given to Clayton John (retired ABA President) and Bernie Anderson (retired ABA Chairman of the Board), current BMX Hall of Fame members, for their recent induction into the U.S. Bicycling Hall Of Fame in Davis, CA.

The Olympic Training Center in Chula Vista will be the new home of the National BMX Hall of Fame, and on the morning following the banquet (Friday, September 18, 2009) at 10:00 am there will be a dedication ceremony to unveil the new facility at the training center.  Be one of the few who, years from now, will be able to say “I was there…”