Bergisel dresses up for the Billabong Air & Style

Only four weeks more to go for the Snowboard event of the year: on 05.12.2009 the Bergisel Stadium will become one more time the mecca of all avid snowboard fans. The best snowboarders of the world will meet at the Billabong Air & Style 09/II fighting for the Ring of Glory.

Names like Travis Rice, Peetu Piiroinen, Antti Autti, Mikkel Bang or Pat Moore are the answer to the question about the sportive value of this happening. This time the musical entertainment is provided by the headliner The Hives and the Rap band from Berlin/ Germany K.I.Z.. 12.500 fans will be on site.

All that are interested in being part should buy a ticket as soon as possible. The presale is going strong and a sold out Bergisel Stadium is just a matter of time.


Construction works for the new setup have started at the Bergisel Stadium
And already since last week construction works are going on in the Bergisel Stadium. For the event in December there are two periods: from 04.11. til 10.11.09 and starting from 27.11. until 05.12. In the first phase the revision of the stadium lift, so there are no possibilities for visiting right now.

Further because of the separation of the construction work the setup can be installed to the finished jumping facility. Tons of steel and snow are getting formed until 05.12.2009 in order to make the Swatch TTR 6star event happen and to put the level of snowboarding higher. With a total length of about 150 meters the setup is gigantic. 220 tons of steel are needed. A complex rope construction takes care that the inrun and the kicker are not damaging the landing hill because of their weight.

Besides a faultless construction one more important issue is the snow. Right now the production is going in Schmierntal, 1400 meters above sea level. The company Wintertechnik supports the Air & Style Company and provides the needed machinery. Until today 500 m³ are produced

The Who-is-who of Snowboarding: The Top 16 starting field
1.      Mikkel Bang          NOR   Burton
2.     Torstein Horgmo  NOR   DC
3.     Peetu Piiroinen     FIN     Burton

4.     Chas Guldemond  USA    DC
5.     Antti Autti              FIN      Billabong
6.     Risto Mattila          FIN     Billabong

7.     Travis Rice              USA   Quiksilver

8.     Seb Toutant            CAN   O`Neill

9.     Pat Moore               USA    Forum
10.   Eero Ettala              FIN     Nitro
11.    Andreas Wiig          NOR   Vans
12.   Werner Stock          AUT    Salomon
13.   Gigi Rüf                    AUT    Volcom
14.   Elias Elhardt            GER   Rip Curl
15.   Iouri Podladtchikov SUI    Volcom
16.   Tim Humphreys      USA     Flow

For further infos log on