For the fifth time in France and for the fourth time in La Rochelle, the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2013 kicks off this weekend on May 25.


In the next five months, and during eight competitions, the cliff diving elite will launch from almost three times the Olympic diving height in venues all over the globe, showing their most spectacular and difficult tricks, and overcoming rational fear to impress the judges and spectators alike. And to spice it all up, the 2013 World Series comes to its scariest location first: La Rochelle, France.

The historic Saint Nicolas Tower in La Rochelle’s old port is a daunting location with its over 27m platform. La Rochelle belongs to the most dreaded venues among the divers. Gary Hunt, the three-time champion, was the last winner of a competition in La Rochelle. He and the other divers are supported by 70,000 spectators.

May 24 – 25 | La Rochelle | FRANCE
June 21 – 22 | Copenhagen | DENMARK
June 28 – 29 | Azores, S.Miguel | PORTUGAL
July 13 – 14 | Malcesine | ITALY
August 23 – 24 | Boston | USA
September 13 – 14 | Pembrokeshire, Wales | UNITED KINGDOM
September 27 – 28 | Nitéroi, Rio de Janeiro| BRAZIL
October 21 – 26 | Krabi Province | THAILAND

More on: