More Judges Confirmed

The judges’ panel for the 2010 Red Bull Illume Image Quest is growing steadily as 31 judges have now confirmed their participation in the world’s most spectacular action and adventure sports photography contest.
Among the newly confirmed judges are some of the world’s most renowned photo editors from publications such as Photo (France) or Outside Magazine (USA). With diverse backgrounds and expertise, what unites these experts in photography is their passion for outstanding pictures and their excitement to participate in this year’s Red Bull Illume. “Not only do I love to shoot pictures but I love to look at pictures and expect I am going to see some very nice photography,” says Andy Clark of Thomson Reuters (Canada).

Red Bull Illume is the world’s premier action and adventure sports photography competition. After a highly successful inaugural event in 2007, the 2010 Image Quest will once again showcase the very best freesports images and honor the photographers behind them.
In 2007, 2,000 photographers from 90 countries submitted over 7,000 photos to be judged by renowned photo-editors. Fifty finalists were chosen for the spirit, grit and edgy perfection they portrayed in their images.

Danny Zapalac, Red Bull Illume finalist, Lifestyle category. Photo Courtesy of Red Bull Photofiles.

More judges will be announced over the coming weeks. The confirmed judges so far are:

Evgeni Kamenko, MC magazine (Belarus)
Andy Clark, Thomson Reuters (Canada)
Dylan Doubt, Color Magazine (Canada)
John Scarth, SBC Snowboard (Canada)
Jan Sibik, Reflex Magazine (Czech Republic)
Eric Colmet-Daâge, Photo (France)
Hans-Peter Junke, Stern View (Germany)
Markus Linden, Foto Magazin (Germany)
Alan Sparrow, Metro (Great Britain)
Grant Scott, Professional Photographer (Great Britain)
Paul Sanders, The Times (Great Britain)
Simon Bainbridge, British Journal of Photography (Great Britain)
Giovanna Calvenzi, Sportweek (Italy)
Steve Dickinson, Adventure Magazine (New Zealand)
Sergio Urday, Efe (Peru)
Kuba Atys, Gazeta Wyborcza (Poland)
Michael Sargent, Straits Times (Singapore)
Mikael Helsing, Oxigeno (Spain)
Corinne Tache-Berther, 7Sky (Switzerland)
Grant Ellis, Surfer Magazine (USA)
Greg Garry, Complex (USA)
Jim Colton, Sports Illustrated (USA)
Amy Feitelberg, Outside Magazine (USA)
Andrea Verdone, Women’s Health (USA)
Dave Reddick, Bike and Powder Magazines (USA)
Eileen Ryan, USA Today (USA)
Grant Brittain, Skateboard Mag (USA)
Jeff Baker, Snowboard Magazine (USA)
Jen Aborn, ESPN (USA)
Jamie Owens, Skateboarder Mag (USA)
Peter Taras, Surfing (USA)

The winners will be announced in early summer in 2010. The overall winner will receive a Leica S2 camera and equipment to the value of €30,000 and SanDisk 64Gb memory cards.